• Leaving of Liverpool (the)

    The Leaving of Liverpool

     

    Farewell to Prince's Landing Stage

    River Mersey, fare thee well

    I am bound for California

    A place I know right well

     

    Chorus:

    So fare thee well, my own true love

    When I return united we will be

    lt's not the leaving of Liverpool that's grieving me

    But my darling when I think of thee

     

    l'm bound off for California

    By the way of stormy Cape Horn

    And l' bound to write you a letter, love

    When I am homeward bound

     

    I have signed on a Yankee Clipper ship

    Davy Crockett is her name

    And Burgess is the Captain of her

    And they say she's a floating Hell

     

    I have shipped with Burgess once before

    And I think I know him well

    If a man's a seaman, he can get along

    If not, then he's sure in Hell

     

    Farewell to lower Frederick Street

    Ensign Terrace and Park Lane

    For I think it will be a long, long time

    Before I see you again

     

    Oh the sun is on the harbour, love

    And I wish I could remain

    For I know it will be a long, long time

    Till I see you again

     

    Traduction claude et bibiche

    le départ de Liverpool


    Au revoir l’escale du Prince est finie

    Le  fleuve Mersey, au revoir

    Je te quitte  pour la Californie
    Un endroit que je connais très  bien

    Au revoir, mon seul et vrai amour
    J
    e r’viendrai et  nous nous marierons
    Quitter Liverpool cela me fait pleurer
    Mon cher amour, je ne pense seulement qu’à toi.

    Je te quitte  pour la Californie
    Par la route des tempêtes
    Je t'écrirai une lettre, Mon amour
    Pour te dire quand  je reviendrai.

    Je me suis enrôlé sur le Clipper Yankee
    Davy Crockett, c’est son nom
    Et le capitaine il s’appelle Burgess 
    On dit que c' est un enfer flottant


     J'ai déjà navigué avec Burgess
    Je pens’ le connaître bien
    C'est un marin solide qui tient la route

    Sinon, il s’rait déjà en enfer


    Au revoir à la petit’ rue Frederick

    Ensign Terrace et Park Lane
    Je pense que le voyage sera long

    Avant que je revienne vers toi


    Dans le port tu es le soleil, mon amour
    J'aim’rais pouvoir y rester
    Car je sais que le voyage sera long

    Avant de te revoir mon amour



    Retour